top of page


Dave is both a rock and classical guitarist born in Hawaii. One of the original founders of Chapter 11 - a band from Waltham Massachusetts whose name was inspired by the fact that they didn't have much money. The band achieved minor popularity in Boston and occasionally performed as an opening act for bands such as King's X. 

Influenced by the music of Van Halen, Yngwie Malmsteen, Paul Gilbert, and classical guitarists Pepe Romero and Andres Segovia, Dave pursued his first solo album project - The Dave K Project. 

The project almost didn’t happen. While writing and recording songs on his DAW, the computer went down. Afterward, Covid-19 had a disruptive impact and created worldwide economic turmoil. Thinking that all his song files were lost in addition to the lockdowns, isolation, and other challenges caused by Covid-19, The Dave K Project was almost cancelled.


Fortunately, Dave’s computer was back up and running with a new power supply. Combined with retrieving the song files and the effort put forth in being able to adapt to a changing environment, The Dave K Project was back on track.


The album was recorded in Acton Massachusetts at Wellspring Sound with ace sound engineers Eric and Matt whose impressive client list includes artists such as Tracy Chapman (Grammy Award–winning), J. Geils, Ronnie Earl, Al Kooperand, and others.

The Van Halen Tribute was recorded with legendary vocalist Jeff Scott Soto whose decades of experience recording albums, astonishing creativity and melodic wit blended his talent, expertise, and style into Van Halen classics "I'm the One", "Atomic Punk", and "Outta Love Again". Jeff’s distinguished credentials spans a career working with artists such as Yngwie J. Malmsteen’, Soul SirkUS (with Neal Schon of ‘Journey), Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Talisman, and super group Sons of Apollo (drummer Mike Portnoy, bassist Billy Sheehan, keyboardist Derek Sherinian, guitarist Ron Thai).


Guest musicians for the Van Halen Tribute also include bassist Jesse Williams of the four-time Grammy nominees North Mississippi Allstars. The band also received one Blues Music Award.

Touring drummer for J Geils and Peter Wolf Thomas Arey set the foundation and heartbeat with his technical skills, great dynamics, and tasty fills.

bottom of page